Floating Flowers Magazine

just some words about cultural tourism

Hide or Pride?

Soccer-aftermath: A Dutchman in Mexico

While hiding in my office, I write these words to the world. Colleagues are passing by, no one seems to notice me. When I arrived, I sneaked into the building. Everything was still quiet and peaceful, so I enjoyed a couple of moments in complete stillness. Then, the Mexicans came in. But hey, they weren’t that noisy as usually. Would it be because their national soccer team lost the match Mexico vs. the Netherlands?

Of course, none of this is true. Except from the part that I am writing this out of my office. People congratulated me as if I was the personal winner of yesterday’s game. Proudly I walk through the hallways of the building, feeling more Dutch Then Ever. It’s so interesting how a team of soccer players is seen equal to a complete country. That is why my immediate response to everyone is: “Thank you, Mexico played really well and I honestly thought that they would win.” And, that’s true, I was so scared that they would win that I barely could watch the second half of the game. Sunday, I watched the game in the midst of a Mexican family, which was kind off a special experience as you might imagine.

Dutch Flag in Mexico

Dutch Flag in Mexico

It was a great experience, and I am sure it also would have been like that if Mexico would have won.

Did the best win? I don’t know. As I’ve told you before, I am not really familiar in the world of soccer. The whole world seems to have some kind of comment and argument about the way in which the orange team won, but the game is already over so… get over it. Results are results, and we have to deal with it anyway.

That brings me to the World of Adulthood. Where an endless well is located, full of jealousy, hatred, and luckily also love. Unfortunately, the latter isn’t as it used to be in childhood – among the most of us, unconditionally. No, you have to work for it. The most important is not to fill buckets with the first two, but to lift up liters full of love. It sounds so easy, doesn’t it? But for many it seems to be an impossible task.

Often I wonder: Were there no buckets with love left? Why do people choose evil, if there are so many good things to give? Daily life of many people is filled with hatred and jealousy. Is it our DNA? The media? Our history? I don’t know, and I’ll probably never find out.

The only thing I do know is that I refuse to fill buckets with jealousy and hatred. My buckets from the well of Adulthood will be filled with love. Probably it won’t always be returned in this way, but that’s okay. Live from your own strength and truth, and enjoy the wonderful moments that being together brings along.  And above all: love.

To connect this to soccer: I think we should keep in mind that it is ‘just’ a game, and that it’s only a tiny amount of people playing that game on the soccer field – NOT an entire country. I find it fascinating how people identify themselves with a soccer team, and how they connect this to belonging to a nation. Don’t get me wrong: I’m just the same. As I wrote before, on those moments I feel more Dutch Then Ever, and very proud (even if they’d lost). It doesn’t matter that I am in Mexico, I won’t hide. Contrary – I’m filled with pride!

 

© 2014 by Debbie Vorachen – Floating Flowers. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 1, 2014 by in Anthropology, Health and tagged , , , , , , .
